What Do We Mean by “Life Is Short?”

Now there are many ways in which we can comprehend the phrase “Life is too short”. Mostly, people perceive it as “You know what! Screw everything! Life is too brief to be thinking too much. You just straight away do things that you want to do and the way you want to do.” According to them people are insane to be wasting their precious time finding out their so-called ” Passion,” specially in this ever fast-moving world. “They should just right away get on with any thing they like and stick with it, and what is so difficult in finding out a fascination anyways?” They argue that there are so many fields, so many areas of interest, specially now than ever, that you can take on and achieve success and that you have to just pick one and go for it. Their take on this brief duration of time is that it should be fully lived and not wasted looking for a true desire or aim, or trying to find the reason of existence even if such thing exists.

Now the above argument seems pretty reasonable. I mean, we are given just a single life, and that too with its ever rapid speed specially now than ever, our time on this planet has become ephemeral than ever. But doesn’t this very fact of life being brief, makes you want to do something that you desire for? Doesn’t it call you for giving thoughts and considerations prior to taking any major step in life? Doesn’t this bitter reality of getting old someday and having to depend on someone to look after you in some way or the other, makes you realise that you ought to do something you would die for?
I am going to give you a scenario just to clear my whole point here. Suppose you choose engineering for a career, you are like, “This is what I think I like, and I feel I’m pretty good at it.” You don’t look no further, are very optimistic about your success. So you go to college, get a degree, then you get a well paid job or start something on your own. You are pretty happy about it in the end, earning more than most of the people you know at least. Time is passing by and you are going on with your life just fine.
Old and feeble now, you are sitting in one of those rise recliners, and you are examining your inner self. It is one of those days when you want to look back at your whole life and see what you did and what you didn’t, what is left to do, and what could have been better or being thankful for an apparently good thing to have not happened. You are pretty satisfied so far with your soul interrogation until you are like, “Wait a minute, what about my career? I mean did I really have to go for engineering? Was it the only thing that I wanted to do? Or could I have just waited a little longer until I have found my real objective? Suddenly you are in a state of utter confusion and despair.

Did I really live my life? Did I discover the aim, the craze that I was looking for? And did I devote my time to that passion of mine to the utmost of my sincerity? Make sure at the end of this short life, when we are confronted with these crucial questions, we answer them with a genuine smile on our faces.

Leave a Reply

